Business and Humanitarian Awards

The Mount Olive Area Chamber of Commerce
Business and Humanitarian Awards

This annual event seeks nominations for a Business Person of the Year and a Humanitarian of the Year. Recipients are honored at an awards dinner in the Spring.

The Business Person of the Year is presented to a business person and chamber member who has demonstrated outstanding professionalism in service to the business community.

The Humanitarian Award, which honors the memory of Tom Klecka, is a person who demonstrates dedication and commitment through volunteer efforts in the community. The nominee for this award is not required to be a chamber member.

Anthony “Tom” Klecka: In Memoriam

As the years roll by, it might be easy to forget those who played a prominent role in the formation of the Chamber of Commerce, as well as an earlier Mt. Olive Township.

New people in the community, new businesses and business owners –. Tom Klecka was not only a good friend to the Mt. Olive Area Chamber of Commerce, he was a best friend to a growing Mt. Olive community.

There are many among us who could tell you how he urged, cajoled, or shamed us into coming out to Chamber. For Tom believed, and he wanted us to understand, that it was not only our right to know what was going on in the community, it was our duty to know. He pressed us, the business community, to become knowledgeable about everything that could impact our life and our livelihood.

Tom accepted a leadership role with the Chamber, which he served as president on numerous occasions, and with the Mt. Olive Economic Development Committee. He housed the Chamber telephone at his business, responding to inquires, meeting with potential businesses, always and ever promoting the Township.

Tom knew just about everyone in business in the town and they, in turn, knew and respected him, recognizing that he lent his voice to speak up in their behalf. Tom loved meeting people so he enjoyed riding in the Chamber car on Memorial Day, or selling the 50/50s at Chamber gatherings.

Tom set a standard for all of us in community activism… he is missed…the Chamber will not let him be forgotten.

Past Award Recipients

Past Humanitarian of the Year Award

Rob Greenbaum
Bill Ritacco
William Lockwood
Joan Westpy
2018Patrice Schafffer
2017Susan Morse
2016Elise Holck-Rapp
2015Steve Maternick
2014Norman Worth
2013Ray Miller
2012Doug Fenichel
2011Bruce Gallagher
2010Marco Rojas
2009Thom Torode
2008Sabine Elsasser
2007William “Bill” and Linda Sohl
2006Frederick “Rick” Ege
200550th Anniversary Year
2004Noreen Risko
2003George Neumann
2002Willie Cirone
2001Rev. Paul Ingeneri
2000Cecelia Thea Dunkle
1999Louis Terrezza
1998Rosemarie Cortese
1997Christine Falconi
1996Gloria Kelchner
1995Myra Rubin
1994Patricia Schaffer

Business Person of the Year Award

Janen Ardia
Joe Nicastro
Ernesto Buonincontri
Tom Schiano
2018Mike McCort
2017Greg Stewart
2016Jason Coe
2015All Our Members
2014Jerome Hagedorn
2013Janen Ardia
2012John Trumbly
2011Glenn Tippy
2010Donna Pilone
2009Lou Nisivoccia
2008Anna Cirilli
2007Francis “Bud” Jones
2006John and Judy Kovach
200550th Anniversary Year
2004Rita L. Hilbert
2003Jeff Stadelman
2002Billie Andrews
2001Richard and Jane Clawson
2000Dr. John Berezny
1999Judy Kovach
1998James DiTaranto
1997Leslie E. Smith, Jr.
1996Dolores Ortiz
1995Richard Murray
1994Vito Moreno